Skip navigation
white to blue colour gradiant

Independent Commission for the Location of Victims Remains

An Coimisiún Neamhspleách um Aimsiú Taisí Íospartach

white to blue colour gradiant


Who are the Commissioners?

There are two members of the Commission – Sir Kenneth Bloomfield and Mr. Frank Murray.  They are appointed jointly by the British and Irish Governments. 

 Sir Kenneth Bloomfield

Sir Kenneth Bloomfield

Sir Kenneth Bloomfield joined the Northern Ireland Civil Service in 1952. He served from 1963 to 1972 in the Cabinet Office and subsequently held posts at Permanent Secretary level. From 1984 until his retirement in 1991 he held the appointments of Head of the Northern Ireland Civil Service and Second Permanent Under Secretary at the Northern Ireland Office. 

Since then he has held diverse public appointments; these have included work as Victims Commissioner (and author of the report "We will remember them"), as Chairman of a Review of Criminal Injuries Compensation.  He has been co-Commissioner of the ICLVR since its establishment.  

 Mr Frank Murray




Mr Frank Murray

Mr. Frank Murray joined the Irish Civil Service in 1960 and served in the then Department of Lands, the Office of the Houses of the Oireachtas and the Department of the Taoiseach He became Secretary to the Government in January 1993. 


He retired from the Department of the Taoiseach in 2000 and since then has held a number of varied positions including Chairperson of the Public Appointments Service, member of the Board of the Military Heritage of Ireland Trust and Trustee and Committee Member of the Parnell Society and Chairman of the Education Committee of the Institute of Public Affairs (IPA). He was appointed co-Commissioner of the ICLVR in 2006.







Confidential Telephone

Britain and Ireland
00800 - 55585500

+353 1 602 8655

Media Telephone

0044 7771 642348

Write to us

Confidential Post Box
ICLVR, PO BOX 10827, Dublin 2, Ireland


Press Release

Department of Justice and Equality Northern Ireland Office